amazon, blog2, blogging, books, catherine burr, Desires and Deceptions, reviews, romance novels

5 Star Desires and Deceptions

By Catherine Burr

I have to preface this blog post by saying that like many authors, I try and avoid looking at reviews for my books. But, sometimes it’s impossible not to see them, and when I logged onto my Amazon Author Central account recently, this 5 star review for my novel, Desires and Deceptions, popped out at me.

The reason in particular that this review tickled me is that in 2012 when Desires and Deceptions was released into the international market, it not only received a shiny new, updated cover (which match the characters in the book), but I spent a great deal of time thinking about the ending of the story, and I decided to go for it and change the ending to the original one that I always wanted. I wasn’t sure how the response would be, but I love the new ending, and I am tickled when the ending is described in this new Amazon.com review, “Not the ending I expected.”

By the way, just a side-note on book covers. Sometimes you may see different covers for books, mostly ebooks. Authors and publishers may try and test different covers for marketing purposes, with ebooks, it’s must easier to test different covers than in the days when we’d print 20,000 books in one print-run!

Okay, back to my blog post…

One thing readers said about my prior novel, Silicon Secrets, is that the ending took them by surprise and that I write with many twists and turns. This thrills me because it’s what I aim for and what I’m somewhat becoming known for. When I re-wrote the ending of Desires and Deceptions to how I originally wanted it, with a “surprise ending,” I was most satisfied with the end-result.

By the way, the new ending is only available in the eBook version of Desires and Deceptions (available at Amazon, Apple iBooks, and Barnes and Noble).

I am enclosing a screenshot of the new 5 star Amazon.com review (by Liz), and I really, from the bottom of my heart, thank Liz for taking the time to read my book and for writing a review.

I also want to let everyone know that I am working on my next novel, and you can be sure there are twists and turns, and the ending? You’ll just have to wait and see!

CatherineBurr.com

Follow me on Twitter @catherineburr

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.